Reading Challenge

 

url

Reading Challenge

I stumbled upon this link a few weeks ago and have been contemplating taking on the challenge! I loved watching the Gilmore Girls with my sister and remember feeling connected to Rory because of her hunger to read. I have the talent (?) of becoming totally absorbed in a novel, to the point where I will not notice my surroundings, even if someone is right next to me calling my name! I used to read a lot more and had periods of devouring one or more books a day. There was a time in my late teens when I would keep a list of books and films…I would try to read one good book then one ‘trashy’ novel so that I didn’t get bogged down with too many classics or just fill my head with the latest soppy romance or a predictable crime saga. I enjoyed this rhythm of reading and perhaps that can be my continued challenge.

Today I googled reading challenge and so many alternatives popped up…

good reads

Telegraph’s 110 best books

TED talks list

Oxford: writers inspireĀ 

I am still undecided as to whether I will actively pursue a reading goal. It might improve this blog if there was an actual project involved but it seems a little misguided to read with the aim of completing a list and not in an attempt to enjoy, understand and learn something from the content.

I am currently reading Margaret Atwood’s ‘The Blind Assassin’ and enjoying it. The problem I am having with this book is piecing together the family connections…I am sure if I had read the first 100-200 pages consecutively there would be no problem. Unfortunately I was frequently distracted by daily life and it has taken me at least a month to get to page 160. I am tempted to start again!

Hopefully my next post will be a little more decisive and by that point I will have some idea of what I want to read.

Leave a comment